Local Culture: The Whanganui Orchid Society Show

Recently I attended the annual show of the local orchid society. Although in the end I decided against purchasing any orchids I had a fantastic time browsing the displays and taking to some of the growers. I also picked up a booklet on cultivating orchids in New Zealand, which covers the most popular types of orchid in New Zealand.

It was especially enjoyable to observe up close a fraction of the massive variety of orchids to be found around the world: flowers of a multitude of colours, sizes and shapes all different yet all somehow the same, pouring forth from plants which were, to all outward appearance, completely dissimilar.

20161001_185632Events like this are always a fabulous opportunity to dip my toe in  unfamiliar waters, and although I left empty-handed I’m glad I went along.

Leave a Reply

