On My Reading List: January and February 2017

While I didn’t get as much reading done as I planned over my holiday break I still managed to finish off a few titles and add a few more to my current list.

The Bible: Having completed my ninth annual read last month, this year will mark my tenth consecutive year of reading the entire Bible from cover to cover. This year I’m reading my copy of the New King James Version, gifted to me by a friend a few years ago. I’ve started with the books of Genesis, Psalms, and Luke, and am making slow but steady progress.

William Shakespeare: I’m not tackling the complete works, just picking out a few plays that I haven’t read or seen before – King Henry IV parts I and II, King Lear, and The Tempest. The disadvantage of Shakespeare is that the language is challenging. The advantage is that each play is relatively short and thus easy to complete.

20170108_163831.jpg

Heard It Through The Grapevine – the things you should know to enjoy wine, by Matt Skinner: Good wine books are hard to come by in my neck of the woods, and I was pleased to stumble across this one. I’ve dipped in and out of it a lot over the last year or so but not read it through. Although written from a British perspective most of the information is just as applicable to the New Zealand wine scene.

Gigi, by Colette: Collette was a daring author, and the short story Gigi is daring in its subject matter, if not in the action itself. Fifteen year old Gigi (Gilberte) is the daughter, grand-daughter and great-niece of respectable courtesans who are grooming her to follow in their footsteps. But there are two problems: firstly, Gigi is something of a klutz, very much the uninhibited girl with none of the artfulness required by her profession, and secondly she is a young woman who knows her own mind – and knows herself to be unsuited to the life of a courtesan.

The Works of Robert Browning: I’m dipping in and out of this anthology of the British Romantic poet, which was lent to me by a friend. Although some of his poems are rather long-winded for my taste, but I am enjoying the beauty of his language and his ability to depict complex human interactions and the emotions which underlie them.

A Suitable Boy, by Vikram Seth: I’m still only half-way through, and Lata has met at least one boy who might be suitable… and another who really, really wasn’t. After spending so much time on this book, I’m really looking forward to finding out how it ends.

Have you read any good books lately? Let me know.

One thought on “On My Reading List: January and February 2017

  1. King Lear is gigantic! I studied to prepare my attendance of Riemann’s opera “Lear” and now I am tackling “Hamlet” to grasp Tchaikovsky’s incidental music he wrote for a French theater production of Shakespeare’s piece. I hope you will enjoy Shakespeare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

