In My Wine Rack

20170507_221708
My wine rack. Note that it contains only wine, rather than random bottles of vinegar, olive oil, fizzy drink… I am quite proud of this.

While popping away the wine from my weekly shop recently I noticed that my very modest six-space wine rack was, for the very first time, completely full of bottles of wine. On closer examination I was rather pleased to realise that I had what I think passes as a well-balanced selection.

The White: Stables Ngatarawa 2015 Sauvignon Blanc. A sound example of New Zealand’s signature wine from one of the major wineries, this is a Sauvignon Blanc which I enjoyed enough to buy again. It’ll probably be summer before I feel like its gooseberry and green herb notes, but it’s good to know I have it to hand if I want it sooner.

The Red: Crossroads Milestone Series 2014 Merlot. A silky, plummy wine with a long finish, I enjoyed a bottle of this a few months back and promptly snagged another to trot out the next time I’m off to dinner with red-drinking friends, or just feel like a satisfying glass of red.

The Bubbles: Ballini Lambrusco Dell ‘Emeilia. I picked this Italian wine up recently in a supermarket clearance and haven’t the foggiest idea what it’s like beyond the brief description on the label which indicates that it’s red, slightly sweet, and slightly bubbly. Once it’s gone I’ll probably replace it with something more familiar, but it won’t be ‘real’ Champagne – that’s a bit too flash for me.

20170507_222102
The White, the Red, the Bubbles, the Aromatic, the Exotic, and the Everyday.

The Aromatic: Ohau Woven Stone 2016 Pinot Gris. The product of a relatively new winery quite close to home (less than two hours’ drive away), this is a lovely Pinot Gris, not overly sweet but heady with lychee, apricot, and honey among other notes. The Significant Other’s mum is a Pinot Gris fan, so chances are this will make it over there for dinner one night.

The Exotic: La Vielle Ferme 2014 Récolte. I picked this up in the same sale as the Lambrusco, and again have absolutely no idea what it’s like – which is all part of the fun.

The Everyday: Stables Ngatarawa 2016 Chardonnay. The Stables make a second appearance with my ‘everyday’ bottle, the wine which is in fact already open as I write this and will probably be gone by the time I post it. Oaked and slightly buttery, with notes of stone fruit, it’s a versatile match for my warming Autumn menu.

Do you like to keep a few bottles of wine on hand? What makes up your ‘perfect wine-rack’?

One thought on “In My Wine Rack

  1. Uuuh, since I live next door to Luxembourg’s best Riesling vineyards I have a fair selection of organically grown Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, Chardonnay and Pinot Blanc from Luxembourg plus the same from Austria (Vienna region) and as far as red wine is concerned, some Spanish and some Sicilian ones, again organically grown, rather robust and down-to-earth. Around 100 bottles, I guess, nicely stacked in the cellar. This household is reputed for its garden parties and the wine it serves. 😄🍷

    Like

Leave a Reply

